Being Detached

One of my biggest pet-peeves is when people use their phone or other distractions while with others. I feel very strongly about this. I know for guys it is a little different, but as a girl, I try to leave my phone at home whenever I am with others (unless someone will need to be contacting me that I know of). I think it is also important to not walk with headphones in my ears, because this way I can make eye contact and pay attention to the people I am passing and try to smile and say something nice. One of my friend’s mothers said something I really like. She told her daughter, “you are never present!” I loved this!! I want to always be present- be with the people I am with and help them feel listened to and cared about- I think this is one of the most important gifts we can give to others. I read this talk today about this that I really loved. One of my goals for this new year will be to be more present, and to not always be attached to media (as I am typing on social media 😉 ) and BE PRESENT!!! I want people to know they are loved and cared about.

 

Leave a Reply

